The Bailey’s Prize 2017

It’s that time of year again!

The Bailey’s sponsored Women’s Prize for Fiction celebrates the pinnacle of literature authored by women, and I had great fun reading along and blogging last year.

The Women’s Prize for fiction was established in 1996 by author Kate Mosse and an anonymous donor, who wanted to promote the written work of women after years of underrepresentation in literary prizes. Due to sponsorships changing, you may know this prize also as The Orange Prize, The Orange Broadband Prize (yes really) or the Bailey’s Prize, and as Bailey’s will end their sponsorship this year, we’re due another name change.

But despite name changes, it remains very much the same core project – to promote the writing of women.

They’ve made it all a little bit easier by reducing the long list ever so slightly… though it appears at the cost of Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. I will never stop being salty that that was missed off, BUT the list we have is incredibly strong.

I’m going to do my best to get through them all. So here we go!

Stay With Me – Ayobami Adebayo
The Power – Naomi Alderman
Hag-Seed – Margaret Atwood
Little Deaths – Emma Flint
The Mare – Mary Gaitskill
The Dark Circle – Linda Grant
The Lesser Bohemians – Eimear McBride
Midwinter – Fiona Melrose
The Sport of Kings – C.E. Morgan
The Woman Next Door – Yewande Omotoso
The Lonely Hearts Hotel – Heather O’Neill
The Essex Serpent – Sarah Perry
Barkskins – Annie Proulx
First Love – Gwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have Nothing – Madeleine Thien
The Gustav Sonata – Rose Tremain