1 Minute Reviews · YA

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy | 1 Minute Reviews

When I heard whispers of a new YA Novel about an amazing, unapologetic fat babe, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy.

I stayed up way past midnight to finish this book. It is fantastic.

9780062327192

Willowdean is a witty lovable teen living in Texas with her Beauty Pageant ambassador mother. Grappling with her grief at the loss of her aunt, changes in her friendship with Ellen and with new love in the form of mysterious Bo, Willowdean decides to take her future in her hands and enters the beauty pageant.

Dumplin’ is filled to the brim with messages of body positivity (a bikini body is a body with a bikini on it, amongst many more) and acceptance and love of yourself for exactly who you are. I’m completely in love with it, and hope Julie Murphy receives all the acclaim she deserves for this essential novel.

Boy do I wish this existed when I was a teen! It is so rare and special to have a fat narrator whose story arc isn’t tied up in weight loss redemption – instead she shuns her mother’s assumption that she would diet for a pageant, as it was all about who she is.

Interested? Get it here.

What to read next:

Thank you kindly to Balzer & Bray and the team at Harper Collins for sharing this copy with me.

3 thoughts on “Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy | 1 Minute Reviews

Leave a Reply

