Sew Many Books · sewing

The Story Sew Far | Sew Many Books

Hello pals. You may not know but I also witter away on Youtube occasionally, and I have finally done a sewing video after 6 months of my channel and literally 1/3rd of the name being a sewing reference.

Anyway, here it is.

However, YouTube hates my super IN DEPTH descriptions so I’ve added it all below.

Patterns Mentioned:

1. Sew Over It Circle Skirt

This pattern you only get when you do the class, however here is the handy calculator by By Hand London I mentioned. It allows you to select full, half and quarter circles, your length and then has links to blogs to tell you how to add in your zipper and waistband.
An equally useful tutorial is Tilly & the Buttons’ Picnic Skirt, which has buttons down the front instead of a zip.
The fabric I used is Atelier Brunette’s Bye Bye Birdie, a very light cotton lawn, usually available at Sew Over It & Guthrie GhaniGuthrie Ghani. It is also available in a mustard-gold which is so nice.

2. Sew Over It Ultimate Shift Dress

You can buy the printed pattern here.
I got this in a dressmaking kit with a fabricdressmaking kit with a fabric chosen by them (and it includes all the notions you need too). On the site it doesn’t specify the fabric, but you could call them up and ask what they’ll bundle in? Can be a good non-scary way of gathering everything.

3. Sew Over It Betty Dress

The two I made are both the standard Betty pattern. They have also made a Betty add-on pack which allows you to do long arms and scoop necks, which makes Betty a bit more day-to-day wearable.
The Cherry fabric was a lucky find in Goldhawk Road. The turquoise fabric is from the Cotton Candy collection by Dashwood Studio. I got mine from G&G but checking in Feb 17 I can only see the candy pink version.

4. Tilly & the Buttons Agnes Top

The great thing about Agnes is that you can either fly solo and chance yourself on jersey OR you can pay for the Agnes online class which you can do as you want. The videos are clear and you have essentially life time access to them, which is helpful when you need a reminder of what to do early on. I really recommend going for the class if you can afford it.
Physical pattern here, but Tilly also sells PDF editions of patterns for slightly cheaper that you can print at home. The online class comes bundled with the PDF.
I have no idea where the black ponte roma is from. The banana jersey fabric is from here & I’m not lying when I say how soft it is, just be gentle with it.

5. Tilly & the Buttons Dominique Skirt

I made the mini version and you might recognise the fabric on the picture except ofc they pattern matched it. As with Agnes, I bought the Dominique online class and found it very useful. You can buy the physical pattern here, but Tilly also sells PDF editions of patterns for slightly cheaper that you can print at home. The online class comes bundled with the PDF.
I used lovely anchor chambray by Robert Kaufman from M is for Make. It goes out of stock quickly so if you want it, request a stock reminder. Price is per fat quarter/quarter of a metre.

6. Tilly & the Buttons Coco Dress

A super easy comfortable dress that everyone should give a go. Don’t be scared of stretchy fabrics! There’s no online class, but Tilly does have a useful sewalong and Pinterest boards that help you come up with great ideas.
Printed pattern here, but Tilly also sells PDF editions of patterns for slightly cheaper that you can print at home.
I bought my ponte roma from Girl Charlee Fabrics who I love love love. They are currently out of stock of the Breton I bought, but here is there selection of Pontes. Their heavier weight Jersey cottons would also work.

Shops & Classes Mentioned

Sew Over It : This is the shop that I did my first class with. They regularly have 10-15% off classes, and you often get a voucher for your next class each time. They can be pricey but I’ve had very good experiences. They also have online classes, for when you get going. They have a number of lovely patterns which are available often in printed and digital, and they do a great number of kits – some of which are highly limited and sell out like lightning.
Their fabric shop is also very good for finding femme pattern fabrics, and has an excellent ponte roma range at the moment. Their fabrics are on the pricey end, and prices are listed per half metre. They also have a great YouTube channel which is updated very regularly, and preview their latest amazing fabrics on there.

Tilly & the Buttons: My favourite patterns come from Tilly, hands down. Very wearable, comfortable clothing which all looks really good together. Tilly doesn’t sell fabric alongside her patterns on the bolt, but she has just started selling fabric kits for your outfits and for some you can buy the bits without the pattern (granted this is probably the pricier way of doing it but if you are slightly lazy and love to support small businesses then you are set eh). Her blog is also excellent, with sew-alongs for most patterns which help give you inspiration and help you around the tricky bits. Her online classes are excellent.

Guthrie Ghani: Lauren Guthrie won the Great British Sewing Bee, made her first book and then opened her own little shop. A great place if you are based in the UK to order from – they package things up well and have a very well stocked haberdashery.

Girl Charlee: American made jerseys of various kinds. All their fabrics are super soft and good quality, printed. Their customer service are spot on and I recommend just having a little chat with them to work out what you want.

If you have any questions, leave them in a comment below and I’ll try and help you out! Happy sewing!

2 thoughts on “The Story Sew Far | Sew Many Books

  1. Great video! I freaking loooove that stripy agnes top. I have always wanted to make my own stuff but I’m too much of a quitter. I always see fabrics I like and have ideas in my head but never bother to learn how to sew or get a sewing machine or anything useful, but I am possibly inspired to look into it again!

    Also, possibly not correct but I always pronounce [toile] like twoll?! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

