Aspergirls by Rudy Simone | 1 Minute Reviews

Aspergirls is one of the first self-help/coping with autism books I read, and actually used it pre-diagnosis to help understand that I was indeed autistic.

simone_aspergirls-empo_978-1-84905-826-1_colourjpg-print

“Aspergirls” is a nickname for girls diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, however in the UK we refer to the DSM V where Asperger’s has now been incorporated into the Autism Spectrum Disorder diagnosis, likely falling in line with ASD Level 1 (requiring some support).

The chapters are separated clearly into sensible sections – overstimulation, school, romance – and are followed by extremely useful Advice to Aspergirls and Advice to Parents sections. I shared with my parents shortly after to help us all understand that my quirks and needs were universal, and to come up with ways of working with me.

Each section includes a number of testimonials from autistic girls and women talking about their experience of that particular subject in their life and how it affects them, meaning that a wide variety of experiences are covered.

I really enjoyed this book. I found it easy to engage with and it helped me bridge the communication gap between myself and the lovely neurotypicals in my life.

Interested? Buy it here.

What to read next?

Want to know what else I’ve read about autism or features autistic characters? Check out The Essential Autie Book List.

2 thoughts on “Aspergirls by Rudy Simone | 1 Minute Reviews”

Leave a Reply

